Tuesday, 9 April 2013

Selamat Datang di Kapal Nomor 24


So, yesterday marked the day of my 24th birthday. Yayness!


Step into this 24th year of my life makes me kinda happy and sad, both at the same time. Maybe I’m just having too much Chicklit to read, but this really feels like an early mid-life crisis thingy (sok tua..).


I’m happy, literally. I earn just enough money on my own now, I have a real job (more on this later hmmm…), I still have my family completely to support me, physically and mentally, my friends are everywhere and I can count on them anytime, I’m perfectly healthy (just some holes in teeth might hurt me sometimes and maybe I just have to reduce my glucose-consuming). See? I’m perfectly happy. At a glance, sure.


I also feel that I’m being wiser now as I’m growing older. My way of thinking, handling problems, I think it’s getting better. I see life and destiny a little bit differently than before (thanks to that man, matter of fact).


Then, reality bites. I feel like I’m heading nowhere in this 24 years old me. The 14 years old me might never have imagined the present me to have a life like this now.


If I sort things through, I’d call this feeling of mine as insecurity rather than sadness.


After graduating, it was only around a month of spare time before I officially got a job.  So everything is kinda in a rush, yes. But if I look back then, I really needed money at that time, so like a hyena sees a cute bambi, I just grabbed that job to fulfill my needs.


Later on, here I am, after 7-8 months, stuck at this company. So many things go wrong in this company, to be honest, and if I ever resign at the soonest, it’d maybe because the crap management in a whole. I might could have myself improved in this company, it is really possible. Somehow, I can even put myself in a very strategic position if I hang on there. But the thing is, this company is just not my thing. I mean, deep down I always realize that I’m not really into a money-making business field. At least not this much.


After all, I’m a Freshgrad and I really think I should hang on there for at least a year for my resume’s sake. Right now, I have to figure out the way to survive for the next 3-4 months and it’s freaking hard. It’s getting harder to even wake up in the morning, take a crappy train to go to work and face the chaotic Jakarta every single day. Luckily, I still have bunch of really good friends in office and they are good reasons to have good laughs everyday, so technically, I’ve been saved.


And apparently, I can't move out just yet, cause I’m still waiting for a scholarship announcement. Yes, I’m applying for another one this year, and I kinda put a big of hope in it. So fingers crossed and wish me luck!

Another thing that is going nowhere is my love life. We really never know who’s gonna chosen by our heart, yes? I never thought I could really fall hard upon that weird man, and what’s worse is now I’m stuck. It’s so not me. Normally, I’m just gonna leave out of a relationship that is going nowhere. I don’t even know what I’m gonna go from here with him. All I know is, I’m in that so-called comfort zone and not wanting to get out from there, not now. Well as a matter of fact, he teaches me a lot, from professionalism (it sucks, but, yes), endless life talk, to the roller-coaster ride of love and romance. All at once, it has been a blessing and sort-of an unfortunate event, really.


The annoying part is the fact that I’m 24 now and my parents is starting to be a little bit restless and keep asking why I never bring a man home ‘cause it’s been a while since my last real relationship. On the last wedding event of my cousin’s, all of my big family wished me a good man to be married with. Based on the age order, it’s supposed to be my wed for the next, so yeah, I really get why my parents keep yapping about it. 


If those things above are the characteristic of an early mid-life crisis, hell yeah, welcome me!
But then, let me blow the candle and make really good wishes for the year ahead.


So, that’s it. Thanks for reading my sappy unimportant curhatan. Later! Ciao!




(photo source: Flickr)




No comments:

Post a Comment

Feedback, please..